#### Board of Selectmen Meeting July 11, 2019 6:00 PM Village Fire Station–32 North Street

Minutes of the Selectmen's Meeting of July 11, 2019

Selectmen Attending: Patrick A. Briggs, Allen Daggett, Sheila Matthews-Bull

Selectmen Absent: Stuart Barwise, Edward Hutchins

**Others:** Michael Davis, David James, Arlene McMurray, Harrison Small, Laurie Smith, and others

### 1. Call to Order.

Chair Daggett called the meeting to order at 6:03 PM.

### 2. Approve the June 13, and 27, 2019, selectmen meeting minutes.

The June 13, 2019, meeting minutes were deferred to the next meeting since there wasn't a quorum of those who attended it.

**Motion** by Selectman Briggs, seconded by Selectman Matthews-Bull, to approve the June 27, 2019, selectmen meeting minutes. **Vote**: 3-0.

# 3. Public Forum (This is an opportunity for anyone who wants to address the Board of Selectmen with any issue that is not on the agenda.).

Harrison Small was concerned about agenda item 7. He thought that they were going to be blasting a paved road on Ocean Avenue.

It was explained that this section was not paved, but people need to get a street opening permit when it is in the right of way.

#### 4. Jeffreys Way discussion.

A resident from Kings Highway wanted to stress that the congestion on Jeffrey's Way caused by vehicles dropping off people and loading and unloading kayaks, paddleboards, etc. is a real issue. He said the signage changes have helped a great deal. There will be further discussion on this item when there are more Board members present.

## 5. Consider a supplemental sewer bill for 29 Kings Lane.

**Motion** by Selectman Matthews-Bull, seconded by Selectman Briggs, to approve the supplemental bill for 29 Kings Lane in the amount of \$1,367.62. **Vote**: 3-0.

## 6. Consider grinder pump replacement for Wastewater.

**Motion** by Selectman Briggs, seconded by Selectman Matthews-Bull, to approve the grinder pump replacement at a cost of \$27,045.00. **Vote**: 3-0.

# 7. Consider street opening permit for Dino Spugnardi, 314 Ocean Avenue for CMP utility line.

**Motion** by Selectman Matthews-Bull, seconded by Selectman Briggs, to approve the street opening permit for Dino Spugnardi, 314 Ocean Avenue for CMP utility line. **Vote:** 3-0.

## 8. Appoint Boards/Committees.

**Motion** by Selectman Matthews-Bull, seconded by Selectman Briggs, to reappoint:

- on the <u>Administrative Code Committee</u> for a one-year term ending in July 2020: Wayne Adams, H. Stedman Seavey, Richard Smith, April Dufoe, and D. Michael Weston.
- on the **Board of Assessment Review** for three-year terms ending in July 2022: Gordon Ayer, April Dufoe; Karen Schlegel for a two-year term ending in 2021; and to appoint Ted Baker as an alternate for a three-year term ending July 2020.
- on the <u>Cape Porpoise Pier Advisory Committee</u> for a one-year term ending in July 2020: Peter Eaton, Arnold Nickerson IV, Ben Nunan, Zandy Talmadge, Eric Wildes and Robert O'Reilly.
- on the <u>Cemetery Committee</u> for a one-year term ending in July 2020: Lynda Bryan, Ruth Fernandez, Greg Pargellis, Ann Sanders, and Rita Schlegel.

## **Vote**: 3-0.

**Motion** by Selectman Briggs seconded by Selectman Matthews-Bull, to reappoint Carol Laboissonniere on the <u>Conservation Commission</u> for a three-year term ending in July 2022. **Vote**: 3-0.

**Motion** by Selectman Matthews-Bull, seconded by Selectman Briggs, to reappoint:

- on the **Government Wharf Committee** for a one-year term ending in July 2020: Jeff Davis, Ron Francoeur, Thomas Mansfield, Chris Welch, and Andrew Welch.
- on the **<u>Growth Planning Committee:</u>** for a three-year term expiring in July 2022: Barbara Barwise, James McMann, and alternate Michael Corsie.
- Susan Inoue on the **Kennebunk River Committee** for a three-year term

Selectmen's Meeting

ending in July 2022.

- George Acker on the **Lighting Committee** for a three-year term ending July 2022.
- Louise Spang on the **Parsons Way Committee** for a three-year term ending in July 2022.
- Scott Mahoney on the **<u>Planning Board</u>** for a one-year term expiring July 2020.
- George Lichte on the **<u>Planning Board</u>** for a three-year term expiring in July 2022.
- on the **<u>Public Safety Committee</u>** for a one-year term expiring in July 2020: Jay Everett, fire chief; Michael Claus, public works superintendent; Craig Sanford, police chief and emergency management director, and Joseph Carroll, KEMS chief of operations.
- on the <u>Sewer Advisory Committee</u> for a one-year term expiring July 2020: Bob Convery, Stephen Couture, and Joseph Martin Mead.
- on the **<u>Shade Tree Committee</u>** for a one-year term expiring in July 2020: Sarah Adams, Kim Gurski, Robert Mills, Nina Pearlmutter, and John Ripton.
- David Conway on the **Shellfish Committee** for a three-year term expiring in July 2022.
- on the <u>Zoning Board of Appeals</u> for a three-year term expiring in July 2022: Gordon Ayer, Wayne Fessenden, and April Dufoe.

**Vote**: 3-0.

## 9. Appoint Selectmen Representatives to Boards/Committees.

**Motion** by Selectman Matthews-Bull, seconded by Selectman Briggs, to reappoint as Selectmen Representatives to the following committees:

Committee	Selectman Representative	
Cape Porpoise Pier Committee	Ed Hutchins	
Goose Rocks Beach Advisory	Stuart Barwise	
Government Wharf	Allen Daggett	
Graves Library Board	Ed Hutchins	
Growth Planning Committee	Allen Daggett	
Investment Committee	Pat Briggs and Allen Daggett	
K.E.M.S. Pat Briggs		
Planning Board	Pat Briggs	

Se	electmen's Meeting	<b>-4</b> -	July 11, 2019
	Public Safety Committee	Pat Briggs	S
	S.M.R.P.C.	Stuart Ba	rwise
	Shade Tree Committee S		atthews-Bull
	Zoning Board of Appeals	Sheila Ma	atthews-Bull

**Vote:** 3-0.

#### 10. Other business.

#### a. Sign the Assessors Return for county taxes.

**Motion** by Selectman Matthews-Bull, seconded by Selectman Briggs, to sign the Assessor's Return for county taxes. **Vote**: 3-0.

Town Manager Laurie Smith reminded everyone that the visioning session for the village parcel will take place this Saturday, July 13, from 9 AM to noon, at Consolidated School. There will also be an open studio July 13, from noon to 8:00 PM on July 13, at the Village Fire Station and also on July 14 and 15, from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM.

Ms. Smith spoke about the declining student population at Consolidated School and the RSU 21 task force report and School Board Meeting. She said the School Board will be meeting again on Monday, July 15, and parents and residents should express their opinions to the School Board.

## 11. Approve the July 11, 2019, Treasurer's Warrant.

**Motion** by Selectman Matthews-Bull, seconded by Selectman Briggs to approve the July 11, 2019, Treasurer's Warrant. **Vote**: 3-0.

#### 12. Adjournment.

**Motion** by Selectman Matthews-Bull, seconded by Selectman Briggs, to adjourn. **Vote**: 3-0.

The meeting adjourned at 6:30 PM.

Submitted by Arlene McMurray Administrative Assistant